Book release: India: the Urban Transition - a Case Study of Development Urbanism

awards and grants

2006 – The Golden Lion
Henrik Valeur receives the Golden Lion for best national pavilion at the Venice Biennale, 10th International Architecture Exhibition.
"The Golden Lion Award for national pavilions is awarded to Denmark (CO-EVOLUTION, Danish/Chinese collaboration on sustainable urban development in China). This pavilion shows us a country looking outward rather than inward, bringing its expertise to bear on the ecological problems faced by cities in China. The Danish pavilion does more than catalogue these ecological challenges; the Danish planners and architects propose concrete solutions to water and energy management through visual forms of aesthetic merit. And the Danes show what they themselves learned from their Chinese colleagues. We salute the creativity, intelligence, and generosity of the Danish pavilion.”
The Jurors, Richard Sennett (President), Amyn Aga Khan, Antony Gormley and Zaha Hadid

Henrik Valeur (Curator) and Kent Martinussen (Commissioner) in Venice, 2006

2004 – The Nykredit Encouragement Prize
Henrik Valeur is awarded the Nykredit Encouragement Prize by the Danish Minister of Culture.
“Perhaps in some sort of contradictory way Henrik Valeur can be said to be a pragmatic idealist. The pragmatism stems from a candid acceptance of the urban reality of the early 21st century in all its turbid complexity. The idealism is linked to the notion that architecture has to fundamentally alter its values and practice in order to deal with that reality in an enriching and poetic manner.”
The Prize Committee, Stig Lennart Andersson (Chairman), Claus Peder Pedersen and Kim Holst Jensen
Presentation speech by the Minister of Cultural Affairs [44K] pdf
Nomination speech by Claus Peder Pedersen [55K] pdf
Acceptance speech by Henrik Valeur [23K] pdf

Olafur Eliasson (Artist), Brian Mikkelsen (Danish Minister of Culture) and Henrik Valeur (Architect), 2004

Work Grants
Danish Arts Foundation (1998, 2000, 2005, 2010 and 2012)
Danmarks Nationalbank’s Anniversary Foundation of 1968 (2004, 2008 and 2013)
Dreyer Foundation (2008 and 2013)